What is Lymphoma

Lymphomas are cancers of the lymphatic system.

When you have lymphoma, some of your lymphocytes (specialised white blood cells that normally fight infection) are ‘out of control’. They divide in an abnormal way, or do not die when they should. These abnormal lymphocytes can collect in the lymph nodes, which are small oval swellings arranged in groups at various points along the course of the lymphatic drainage system.

Lymphoma can affect lymph nodes in all parts of your body. It can also involve other organs, such as the spleen (part of the immune system) or your bone marrow.

Like other cancers, . . . . . . lymphoma can affect the function of the tissue involved. For example, if the lymphoma is in your bone marrow (where your blood is made) you might not be able to make new blood cells.

Although lymphoma is a disease of the lymphatic system, it can also arise in other parts of your body. For example, lymphoma can affect your breast, stomach, bowel, skin or liver. Lymphoma that occurs in areas such as these is said to be ‘extranodal’, meaning ‘outside of lymph nodes’.

Types of Lymphoma

The two main types are Hodgkin lymphoma and non-Hodgkin lymphoma (NHL).

Hodgkin lymphoma

Non-Hodgkin lymphoma

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.